Monthly Archives: July 2012

NAND Flash Chip Types – SLC, MLC, TLC

USB drives are available in three types of flash, SLC (single-level cell), MLC (multi-level cell) and TLC (triple-level cell). Each one has its distinct uses.

  • SLC (Single-Level Cell)
  1. High performance / faster write speeds
  2. Long-term reliability – 100,000 program/erase cycles per cell
  3. Has two states: programmed or erased
  4. Used for embedded and industrial applications
  5. Higher cost
  • MLC (Multi-Level Cell)
  1. Lower endurance than SLC
  2. 10,000 program/erase cycles per cell
  3. Has four states: fully programmed, partially programmed, partially erased and fully erased
  4. Used for consumer applications
  5. Lower cost
  • TLC (Triple-Level Cell)
  1. Lower endurance and performance than SLC and MLC
  2. 5,000 program/erase cycles per cell
  3. Has eight states and is thus slower in operation
  4. Used for low-end applications that require cost efficiency
  5. Most cost efficient

Each of these has its place in the market. We can help you determine which one to use based on your requirements. Email if you have any questions or comments.

 Scroll to top